The Salt Spring
National Art Prize


The Salt Spring National Art Prize wishes to thank the many supporters and members of our community who have played a central role in making this extraordinary prize and exhibition possible.

Special Thanks

We wish to offer a special word of gratitude to:

  • Donors Brian Craig and Shelley Kuipers who have enabled the production of this digital catalogue

Through this digital catalogue, more Canadians will have an opportunity to experience a national art prize and vote for their favourite artwork in the People’s Choice Awards.

Donate Now

SSNAP Sponsors and Donors

Media Sponsors

Canadian Art
Gulf Islands Driftwood
Preview Magazine
The Fishbowl Magazine

Other Sponsors

Hastings House Country House Hotel
​​Island Blue Book Printing
Gallery 8
Gulf Island Picture Framing
The Point Gallery
Steffich Fine Art


Julie Bryant and Bill Roach
John and Nina Cassils
Phyllis Coleman
Brian Craig and Shelley Kuipers
Ken and Denise Hughes
Bob and Liesbeth Leatherbarrow
Jim and Cathy Peplinski
Margo and Brant Randles
Leigh Smythe
Wettstein Family
Michael Whitfield
Dana Young and Jack Speirs

SSNAP Supporters

SSNAP Partners

Joan McConnell, Founding Patron
Janet Halliwell

Founding Partners

Rosemaria Behncke
The Salt Spring Arts Council

SSNAP Steering Committee

Janet Halliwell, Chair
Ronald T. Crawford, Director
Loretta Golby, Treasurer
Bob Leatherbarrow, Shipping and Receiving
Karin Millson, Volunteer coordinator
John FitzGibbon
Anthony Matthews
Patrick McCallum
Joan McConnell
Tom McPhee


Patti Baral
John FitzGibbon
Pat McCallum

ONBOX Creative Inc.
Patti Baral
Nancy Côté
Pat McCallum


Patti Baral, Communications
Nancy Côté, Website Administrator
Deirdre Rowland, Publicist, C Me Communications

Gallery Managers

Anthony Matthews, SSNAP
Zoe Zafiris, PAS

Other Key Supporters

Chintan Bolinger
Thea Chapman
Elissa Cristall
Margaret Day
Sandra DeAthe
Howard Jang
Laura Keil
Liesbeth Leatherbarrow
Emily Keats McCallum
Kegan McFadden
Alexandra Montgomery
John Newton
Renee Sanden
Olga Szkabarnicki
Deon Venter
David Wisdom


Joan McConnell
Founding Patron

Joan was there at the very inception of the Salt Spring National Art Prize. A conversation one night with founding director Ron Crawford saw the idea for this new national art prize take shape. Joan has remained an enthusiastic supporter and guiding light ever since. Her passion for Canadian art has seen her generously sponsor the main Salt Spring Prize and artist residency for all four editions of the Prize.

“By sponsoring this prize in the visual arts I hope that all of the arts and crafts will continue to prosper on Salt Spring Island. Just as importantly, my hope is that our prize will promote Salt Spring Island as a prime destination for Canadians from all artistic disciplines to discover our special enchantments. Thus we will enrich one another.”

Janet Halliwell
Patron and President, SSNAP Society

Since moving to Salt Spring Island in 2007 Janet has been involved in the island’s art scene, initially as a member of the Salt Spring Arts Council and more recently as President of the newly formed Salt Spring National Art Prize Society. She is an ongoing SSNAP patron and contributes to the leadership of this extraordinary initiative in support of contemporary Canadian art.

“Through SSNAP we showcase the outstanding artistic creation from all regions of Canada and the rich artistic community and the extraordinary natural landscape of Salt Spring that has inspired local artists and artisans. May the cross fertilization of SSNAP yield even more creativity and lasting artistic connections.”